by Public User Archive

Mark Hill, oboe
Elena Urioste, violin
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Bach’s charming Orchestral Suite No. 3 consists of stylized dance movements. Beginning with a  long, vigorous and powerful overture, this work features the famous Air on the G String. Mozart’s Oboe Concerto highlights the soloist while also giving an almost equal voice to the orchestral accompaniment. Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4, performed by Elena Urioste, who was selected by Symphony Magazine as the emerging artist to watch, offers the listener various charms and delights with its richness of ideas and subtle wit. The concert concludes with Bach’s Concerto for Oboe and Violin, a work that beautifully contrasts the two solo instruments.

BACH Orchestral Suite No. 3 in
D Major
MOZART Oboe Concerto in C Major
MOZART Violin Concerto No. 4 in D Major
BACH Concerto for Oboe and Violin
in D minor

Date: May 14, 2011

Time: 8:00 pm

Location: The Music Center at Strathmore

Attire: Casual

Ticket/Pricing Information:


Related Articles