by Public User Archive

Iwona Sobotka, soprano
Magdalena Wor, mezzo-soprano
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

The late-Washington composer Andreas Makris reflects on his Greek origins in the Aegean Festival
Overture, which blends classic form and folklorebelements. The rarely performed A Sorrowful
Tale by Polish composer Mieczyslaw Karlowicz (1876-1909) is a somber symphonic tone poem offset by recollections of happier times. Finally, one of Mahler’s most popular symphonies, Symphony No. 2, presents the composer’s meditations on afterlife and resurrection.

MAKRIS Aegean Festival Overture
KARLOWICZ A Sorrowful Tale
MAHLER Symphony No. 2 in C minor

Date: 10/09/2010

Time: 8:00 pm

Location: The Music Center at Strathmore

Attire: Casual

Ticket/Pricing Information:


Related Articles