RAMMY Awards 2019 Finalists

by Catherine Trifiletti

Winners will be announced at the Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington’s annual gala on Sunday June 30. 

Every year the local restaurant world is set abuzz with nominations for the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) RAMMY awards, which will be held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center on Sunday, June 30.

View our coverage from last year’s RAMMYs here: https://washingtonlife.smugmug.com/2018-PHOTOS/36th-Annual-RAMMY-Awards-Ben-Droz/

Winners are selected by a group of volunteers in the food industry (educators, professionals and journalists) and the dining public. Do your part and vote online for the categories Favorite Gathering Place of the Year, Upscale Brunch of the Year, Casual Brunch of the Year and Favorite Fast Bites of the Year at www.nbcwashington.com/RAMMYS through Tuesday, April 30, 2019.

Here are this year’s highlights:

New Restaurant of the Year:

  • Chloe
  • Kaliwa
  • Poca Madre
  • Spoken English
  • St. Anselm

Cocktail Program of the Year:

  • barmini by JoséAndrés
  • Bresca
  • Daikaya
  • Petworth Citizen and Reading Room
  • Royal

Rising Culinary Star of the Year:

  • Javier Fernandez, Kuya Ja’s Lechon Belly
  • Adam Howard, Blue Duck Tavern
  • John MacPherson, Three Blacksmiths
  • Daniela Moreira, Call Your Mother Deli, Timber Pizza Company
  • Kwame Onwuachi, Kith and Kin

Favorite Gathering Place of the Year:

  • Duke’s Counter
  • Open Road
  • Perry’s
  • Quarry House Tavern
  • Vinoteca

Upscale Brunch of the Year:

  • Estadio
  • Seasons
  • The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
  • The Source by Wolfgang Puck
  • Unconventional Diner

Casual Brunch of the Year:

  • Brookland’s Finest Bar & Kitchen
  • Casolare Ristorante & Bar
  • Compass Rose Bar + Kitchen
  • Maketto
  • The Tavern at Ivy City Smokehouse

Casual Restaurant of the Year:

  • All Purpose – Shaw
  • Bantam King
  • Bindaas – Cleveland Park
  • Maketto
  • Royal

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year:

  • Centrolina
  • Iron Gate
  • Momofuku CCDC
  • Sally’s Middle Name
  • Sushi Taro

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year:

  • Blue Duck Tavern
  • Rasika
  • The Source by Wolfgang Puck
  • Trummer’s On Main

Chef of the Year:

  • Kyle Bailey, The Salt Line
  • David Deshaies, Unconventional Diner
  • Marjorie Meek-Bradley, St. Anselm
  • Russell Smith, The Source by Wolfgang Puck
  • Nicholas Stefanelli, Masseria, Officina

Related Articles